100km’s of human endurance

Posted: April 15, 2013 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , ,

In October I’ll be participating in one of the worlds toughest team challenges. The Oxfam Trailwalker. It’s an endurance event that see’s teams of four walking 100km’s together to raise money for poverty.

It’s not an event I’m taking lightly, however, it’s one I can see my ability to push the very physical and mental barrier I have always wanted to test. In our day to day lives, there are very little opportunities to do this. We go to work, come home, eat, sleep and repeat. In our daily regime we rarely find ourselves in a position where by the activities we participate in help others more so than ourselves. Why is that? We live in a society where helping one another out comes second to looking after yourself. Technology, high cost of food and utilities see’s us work harder for our every day living in order to protect and fuel our lifestyles.

I remember a time where helping someone out was done out of the willingness to legitimately help someone, however, it goes without saying that if you ever needed something done, it was always thought that in times of need, you could always call on those very people to help you with something. It was this back and fourth help that saw friendships and relationships blossom. This very nature is what Australian culture was built on. We built this country on this methodology, however, somewhere along the way we seemed to have lost that. I’m not sure when that time was, I’ve spent some time thinking about it, but no specific dates or events came to mind. Have we really lost touch of who we are and where we came from?

The Australian culture we once held in high regard across the world. The way we lived our lives was almost a luxury and one that many envied all over the world. Like everything though, it didn’t appear to last. Racism, technology, alcohol, drugs – all these things have weighed the country down and in turn we’re no different in our day to day culture as the rest of the western world. Nothing sets Australia apart except our land of which we seem to be more willing to destroy as each day passes.

I used to be so proud of who I am and where I come from. I loved this land and the people in it. Sadly, times have changed and going from the days of wanting to wear a tattoo of Australian pride on my body to not even wanting to admit where I come from. It’s a very sad reality that I now have to live with. No doubt I played a contributing factor in this as does every other Australian. It doesn’t mean it has to stay this way and that I can’t change. Times will continue to change as will I, and I can only hope for a positive and better future for myself and this country we call home.

If you wish to donate to our team: https://trailwalker.oxfam.org.au/team/home/14698

Leave a Reply

