Richard Branson credits Margaret Thatcher’s policies with his success?

Posted: April 15, 2013 in Uncategorized

Richard Branson credits Margaret Thatcher’s policies with his success | Business News | Business and Finance News | | Perth Now.

Let me make something clear before I begin. I have no idea who Margaret Thatcher is other than she was once the PM of the UK. Let’s not get off to a shaky start though, because there is an underlying topic here I’d like to discuss. You see, all the time these articles appear where by someone wants to praise their success and worth owing to someone they’ve crossed paths with in life; don’t get me wrong, I’m all for appreciating those who’ve help you in life, and granted one would hope that thanking people goes hand in hand with helping others out. After all, we’re all human and deserve the same decency and respect.

The problem I have though is the fact that for one reason or another success no longer has a generic meaning we can all view as the clearly defined. Success nowadays seems to defined by how much property you own, how many shares you’ve accumulated or how much net-worth you have. Where in society did we go so wrong?

Maybe I’m wrong – but shouldn’t success be more about the people you’ve met and the life experiences you have? Where reaching 80 or 90 years old looking back and knowing you’ve had a successful life? Hell, maybe I truly am wrong, but to me success shouldn’t be a materialistic word.

Helping people out, sharing life experiences and meeting people along the path of life in my eyes is what success is all about. Where judgement is unheard of and friends could be made everywhere you turned.

Success….

What does it mean to you?

Leave a Reply

