Mothers Day – just another day

Posted: May 13, 2013 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , ,

It’s not exactly the one day of the year I look forward to by any stretch of the imagination. I haven’t known or seen my mum for 16 years and certain’y don’t intend to now.

This day comes around and I find myself just wanting to stay home and do nothing. I go to the shops or out for lunch or dinner and the constant reminder of what I never had rushes into my thoughts. It’s fantastic that so many people can appreciate their mothers and enjoys the spoils of growing up with a great family life, but I wonder if there is a anti-mothers day place out there where all of us who never had a mum could hang out, have a few pints and enjoy the footy?

Lately, for me anyway, there has been so many days where the social stigma has me wanting to buy gifts for people or spend the day with them, be it Mothers Day, Fathers Day or the fifty million birthdays that all come at once. If I bought a gift for those people on each of those days I’d be broke!! Although we’re in this materialistic world where by if I don’t provide a gift, I’m frowned about as having not put any thought into the day. Screwed up much?

One particular Christmas I could afford to by anyone anything let alone myself. I was just going through a period of bill after bill after bill, but I felt I had to do something, especially on this day where it’s supposed to be about opening gifts, eating food and enjoying each others company. I spent some time thinking about what I could do and eventually I thought I would write a letter to each person in my family. Unbeknown to be, it happened to be the single best gift any of them had received. I had shared my thoughts and emotions on each one of them in the letters to the point the whole room was in an emotional swimming pool looking for the nearest life raft. In turn my Father proposed to his now fiancée and everyone left the room of gifts and swimming pool of tears feeling happier.

All this reasserted that gifts are pointless. You buy a gift no matter how much it costs hoping one appreciates it. Fact is, they’ll never say they don’t like it out of respect. I write a simple letter and I share my thoughts, feelings, and emotions and I provided more of a gift than anyone could have hoped for. It was a good feeling! Suffice to say though, I couldn’t exactly do it two years in a row….it may have been a bit awkward.

Anyway, I’m glad Mothers Day over, finished and done for another year. I can now get back to reality with everyone else.

Leave a Reply

