Moving towards a greener tomorrow

Posted: July 18, 2013 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

It’s no secret by now that I’m an Electrician. I have had plenty of opportunities in life and have trained and had experience in many areas. I more recently completed a course in energy efficiency. In the coming years the Australian Government will be implementing a requirement where by all homes sold will need to meet energy efficiency ratings before it can be sold. If your home doesn’t meet these ratings you’ll need to make changes within your home to help bring it in line with a greener tomorrow. For example – solar hot water systems, solar power panels, changing of energy efficient light bulbs, water restrictors on taps and shower heads etc.

I started smoking weed in 2008 for more of a recreational purpose. Previously I had had a smoke whilst someone had it however I never considered it as something I’d see myself doing let alone any form of drug. It all started when I was doing a job for a guy and whilst doing a job I had come across his grow room. I thought it was kinda cool the way he hid the room, however, I didn’t care and was happy to turn a cold shoulder to it. After all, it’s not my problem if he’s caught.

After the job was completed he gave me an ounce of weed and I was kind of shocked. He didn’t say anything, but I think he thought I would dob him in and so it was his way of shutting me up in his mind. Never mind, I took the weed home and whilst it took me forever, it was eventually shared and smoked and that was that.

I believe there is this false perception by many on how bad marijuana is, and it goes without saying that like everything, moderation is paramount to staying in control. The same goes for eating, drinking, smoking and so fourth. If people are going to overdose on food or anything for that matter, it’s going to have adverse effects, however, marijuana does something to a person that can only be experienced to be understood.

I personally think weed should not be smoked until roughly age 21. By this stage you have a decent understanding of life and start to settle into your views and opinions of everything and everyone. When you’re at peace with oneself you can smoke weed and you start to view life very differently. I would never think twice about tree’s or wildlife, but since smoking weed I’ve found a new sense of respect for the world we live in. Let me make it clear though, I’m no green peace keeper or anything like that nor am I any form of hippy, but what I am now is a better person who shows more respect for people and the world than I ever did before I smoked weed. I used to kill ants and flies and many other insects as to not invade the home and cause havoc, however, I’ve learnt that they are integral components to our eco-system and instead of killing them, I found ways to get them to shift their homes and places of residence to areas where they are of more use to me, from killing each other or countering one another and thus the normal cycle of life can continue without me interrupting it all the time out of pure greed and selfishness.

It changed the way I view people and instead of having such strong views and opinions of others, I’ve found myself instead learning more about them and understanding why they are the way they are. I learnt how to respect others from all walks of life.

When smoking weed in a relaxed state of mind, I find myself being able to focus on things differently. I wouldn’t say I had any more focus than normal, but I find myself unlocking parts of my brain where by I tackle problems and situations very differently and approach them from different angles.

Marijuana has done nothing other than make me a better person, however, the key word in all of the above is “Moderation”.

In my greener and more respectful life, I have found a love for gardening and growing produce. I have this dream and this image in my head where I convert my whole front yard into a organic produce garden where by he cycle of every plant is used and then re-used in order to keep this on going normal cycle of life where the plant finishes it’s life cycle and is then broken back down into the soil and aids in growth of another. This image in my head is so vivid and after I get married next month, I’m going to put all my energy into this garden and ensuring it’s ready for spring crop if not summer.

With food prices and energy prices soaring, you can’t ignore idea’s like this. It’s time people stop being lazy and stop taking for granted the every day things in life. I hate how people can go to the shop and buy 30 steaks for a BBQ and not think about the steaks in question. I believe everyone should have to kill, gut, and cut their own meat at least once in their life so they more of a respect for what is on their plate and in doing so they’ll not only find it tastes better, but they will appreciate what is in front of them instead of taking for granted these every day items they can buy off the shelf.

Ideally, I’d have about 20 to 50acres and I’ll kill one lamb and/or cow a year and that meat will last a whole year at a cost that is far cheaper to me, but also at a cost of understanding and respect of what is in front of me. Not only that, but you can then go on to share with your family and provide a cheaper and healthier lifestyle for them.

I’ll provide updates and pictures of my vegie garden as it takes place and hopefully inspire others to consider doing the same as organically as possible.

 

Leave a Reply

